General Tadeusz Kościuszko Military University of Land Forces is vigorously developing international cooperation with mainly foreign military and civilian universities in various fields. International cooperation is one of the main bases for developing and strengthening the brand of the Military University of Land Forces among foreign military universities.

Cooperation with leading American research centres such as The United States Military Academy at West Point, the University of North Georgia in Dahlonega, and the University of Charleston forms an important part of this activity. Joint ventures with foreign partners are key elements in our international activities. We conduct our scientific activities by organising and participating in scientific conferences, seminars and symposia, as well as within innovative international projects of the Strategic Partnership, in military higher education, of which the University is a leader. It is implementing the International Military Leadership Academy project together with military universities from Greece and Portugal. The project’s objective is to devise joint education modules which would develop the leadership competences of future EU’s officers. The cadets successfully participate in specialist training and sports competitions for foreign cadets at AWL and at foreign universities. It is worth mentioning such initiatives as The International Military Leadership Course, specialist high-mountain training, the International Military University Championships for the cup of the AWL Rector Commandant, the Military Ski Patrol, the Winter Survival, and the Italian Raid Commando-Lombardia. The Military University of Land Forces engages in multilateral cooperation as part of cyclical international endeavours, with the following being especially worth mentioning: The European Military Academies Commandants' Seminar (EMACS), the international Military Academic Forum (iMAF), the European initiative for the exchange of young officers (Emilyo) and the International Symposium on the Development of Military Academies (ISoDoMA). Within the Erasmus+ programme, we engage in cooperation with foreign military and civilian partner universities in the EU, based on bilateral agreements, including semester-long exchanges and internships for cadets and civilian students, as well as the short-term exchange of staff. Among other things, AWL organises an international semester in English in every academic year. This year subsequent agreements under the Erasmus+ programme will be drawn up, including with the Royal Military College Saint-Jean (Canada) and Stellenbosch University (RSA). The University has as its guests cadets from the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA), who are pursuing their first-cycle (Bachelor) programme in management, specialising in airmobile subunit command, in English. The systematically increasing number of KSA cadets studying at AWL, and the growing interest in the international semester organised by our University, clearly demonstrate that the Military University of Land Forces is a key partner for foreign universities.
The foreign universities with which AWL cooperates.


  1. United States Military Academy – West Point (USA)
  2. University of Defence - Brno (Czech Republic)
  3. Armed Forces Academy of General Milan Rastislav Stefanik - Liptovský Mikuláš (Slovakia)
  4. General Jonas Zemaitis Military Academy of Lithuania – Vilnius (Lithuania)
  5. Theresian Military Academy - Wiener Neustadt (Austria)
  6. German Army Officer School – Dresden (Germany)
  7. Military Academy of Saint-Cyr Coetquidan – Guer (France)
  8. Hetman Petro Sahaidachnyi National Ground Forces Academy – Lviv (Ukraine)
  9. Nicolae Balcescu Land Forces Academy – Sibiu (Romania)
  10. Henri Coanda Air Force Academy – Brasov (Romania)
  11. National Defence Academy - Riga (Latvia)
  12. Estonian National Defence College – Tartu (Estonia)
  13. Royal Military Academy - Breda (Netherlands)
  14. Royal Military Academy – Brussels (Belgium)
  15. Rua Gomes Freire Military Academy – Lisbon (Portugal)
  16. General Military Academy – Zaragoza (Spain)
  17. Vassil Levski NationalMilitary University – Veliko Tarnovo (Bulgaria)
  18. Hellenic Army Academy - Kitsi (Greece)
  19. Military Academy Karlberg – Stockholm (Sweden)
  20. Norwegian Defence University College – Oslo (Norway)
  21. Turkish Military Academy - Ankara (Turkey)
  22. Royal Military College - Saint-Jean (Canada)
  23. King Abdul Aziz Military Academy – Riyadh (Saudi Arabia)
  24. Imperial Japanese Army Academy
  25. Korea Military Academy – Seoul (South Korea)



  1. University of North Georgia – Dahlonega (USA)
  2. University of Charleston – Charleston (USA)
  3. National University of Public Service – Budapest (Hungary)
  4. University of Zilina – Zilina (Slovakia)
  5. University of Security Management in Kosice – Kosice (Slovakia)
  6. School of Economics and Management in Public Administration Bratislava (Slovakia)
  7. Varna Free University – Varna (Bulgaria)
  8. University of Nicosia – Nicosia (Cyprus)
  9. European University of Cyprus – Nicosia (Cyprus)
  10. Open University of Cyprus – Latsia (Cyprus)
  11. Tallinn University - Tallin (Estonia)
  12. University of Jaen - Jean (Spain)
  13. Vytautas Magnus University – Kaunas (Lithuania)
  14. Riga Technical University - Riga (Latvia)
  15. Hochschule Zittau/Gorlitz – Zittau/Gorlitz (Germany)
  16. Universidade do Minho - Braga (Portugal)
  17. West University of Timisoara – Timisoara (Romania)
  18. Charles University in Praha – Praha (Czech Republic)
  19. Technical University of Ostrava – Ostrava (Czech Republic)
  20. Alexander Dubcek University of Trencin – Trencin (Slovakia)
  21. Matej Bel University in Banska Bystrica – Banska Bystrica (Slovakia)
  22. University of Ljubljana – Ljubljana (Slovenia)
  23. Atilim Universitesi – Ankara (Turkey)
  24. Suleyman Demirel University – Isparta (Turkey)
  25. University of Cagliari – Cagliari (Italy)
  26. University of Foggia – Foggia (Italy)
  27. Universita degli Studi di Salerno – Salerno (Italy)
  28. Plymouth University – Plymouth (Great Britain)
  29. Lviv Polytechnic - Lvi (Ukraine)
  30. University of Granada – Granada (Spain)
  31. University of Zadar – Zadar (Croatia)
  32. Stellenbosch University – Stellenbosch (South Africa)


Despite the substantial number of institutions with which AWL cooperates, we are planning to establish cooperation with more entities to gain new experiences, which are of crucial importance for the development of our University and the building of its international brand.



Back to top